The Final Haul

When coming up with a final project topic for my Fundamentals of Digital Journalism class, I wanted to think of something related to the fashion beat I have been following through my blog. After doing a little research, I decided one of the best ways to show a side of the fashion world people don’t often get to see would be to do a story behind the scenes of a major fashion company.

The next step towards bringing this idea into a reality was to find a boutique or department store that would allow me interview their employees, as well as film some of the day-to-day tasks that enable a fashion business in a competitive market to stay afloat. A high-end boutique in Cambridge named “Free People,” that is part of a much larger chain, agreed to let me come in for the day on Saturday, Nov. 1st and shadow their employees.

Michela Finnegan (one of the store managers) will be my primary interview, as well as some of the sales associates, and at least a customer or two. My hope is to get a well-rounded perspective of the store and how it is run. I will also be photographing the elaborate seasonal displays the brand is known for, as well as the daily fashion shoots the store conducts for their social media outlets. I think this story will provide a very interesting perspective on how much work really goes into helping customers look effortless in their style.

Leave a comment